As we enter a new season, INDIA in F1 dot com, thanks all the motorsports enthusiasts and fans

By | January 31, 2015

Bangalore, 31 Jan 2015: As we begin the season, enters its 10th year, and on the eve of the fourth anniversary of the revamped website, we salute all the Indians in the world of Formula One, especially, the Force India F1 team and the Indian origin first F1 lady team principal, who is at Sauber F1 team.

We also fondly remember the efforts and contribution to the Indian sport by the two greatest ever Indian talent Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok. We also acknowledge the Indian origin German Balbir Singh, who made his presence felt in the F1 circles with his expertise as team personnel. At this time, we also acknowledge the hard work and efforts of Vicky Chandhok, former President of Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India  (FMSCI) and the Jaypee group for the successful conduct of Formula One race in India for three years. We hope and urge the new president Bharat Raj of India Mines Group, to continue the efforts to bring back the show-piece event. An interview with the current FMSCI president will appear soon.

As a culmination of decades of effort and passion, when Narain Karthikeyan, the fastest Indian in the world, became the first Indian driver in Formula One (F1), the site began in 2005, but soon had to close for various technical reasons. Earlier, in 2002, when the founder of this site (yours humbly) became the second Indian journalist to cover an F1 race live (at Sepang 2002), the idea was to bring out an exclusive F1 magazine in India. However, as the first F1 website in India, we were able to withstand and began regular updates from Jan 2011, and today thanks to our supporters, fans, we have more than 1000 regular visitors to the site everyday. At one point, we have gone below 3-lakh site mark in the Alexa rankings.

Today we start a series of articles on Indians and Indian contribution to the world of Formula One.