Title fight comes to Paris for back-to-back races; Mahindra 3rd in standings: Formula E

By | May 17, 2017

Paris will host its second FIA Formula E Championship ePrix this weekend as the title fight comes to the streets around Invalides

Paris, 17 May 2017: For the first time in its history, there will be back-to-back races in the FIA Formula E Championship, with the Paris ePrix coming this Saturday, 20 May, just seven days after a thrilling showdown in Monaco.

The race on the famous city streets on the Côte d’Azur was in many ways analogous to the story of the title fight so far in this third season of Formula E. Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi was in control throughout practice and qualifying, setting the fastest times across the board and ensuring he would be on pole once again in Monaco, having achieved the same feat the first time the championship visited two years before.

In the race a thrilling battle developed between Buemi and the ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport driver Lucas di Grassi who is his closest rival in the chase for championship honours. Buemi had pulled a strong gap in the opening stint, but as the race entered its final phase di Grassi closed right in on the reigning champion.

With Buemi managing to keep just enough of a gap, he extended his points lead coming into the Paris event to 15 points. Behind the two front-runners, Nico Prost who sits third in the standings scored just two points in Monaco, however his two closest chasers – Jean-Eric Vergne and Sam Bird, who are fourth and fifth respectively – did not finish, meaning that the points gaps remained stable.

Mahindra Racing had a strong showing in Monaco, with Nick Heidfeld making a return to the podium in third, while Felix Rosenqvist bounced back from a crash in practice to cross the line in sixth. Heidfeld has jumped up the order as a result of his rostrum finish, he’s now just ahead of his team-mate in sixth.

Venturi’s Maro Engel enjoyed his best ePrix to date in Monaco. Having failed to finish a race since the opening round of the season in Hong Kong, the German driver enjoyed an impressive return to form at his team’s home race. He secured the second best time overall in the qualifying group stages, progressing to SuperPole for the second event in succession. He held on to his fifth-placed grid slot for the duration of the contest, bringing himself and Venturi ten points and closing the gap back up to Jaguar in the standings.

Engel is, however, one of two drivers who will be substituted in Paris, the other being Loic Duval for Faraday Future Dragon Racing. They will be replaced by Tom Dillman and Mike Conway respectively.

So close to the headquarters of the FIA, the Paris ePrix is a special race for the Federation, and there will plenty going on away from the track action. In particular, there will be a special FIA Smart Cities session featuring FIA President Jean Todt and the Mayor of Paris, Anne Hidalgo. The concept of Smart Cities has become one of the most rapidly growing frameworks applied in all sectors of urban development, including transport and mobility systems, and this talk will focus on the critical area of road safety in urban environments.

Paris is not only home to the FIA, but marks a home race for championship leaders Renault e.dams, while DS Virgin Racing can claim it as a home race thanks to French DS brand. No fewer than four drivers – Prost, Vergne, Dillman and Stephane Sarrazin will undoubtedly be spurred on by their home supporters on Saturday.

Event Timetable


08:00 – 08:45: PRACTICE 1

10:00: Qualifying group lotteryPodium / Allianz eVillage

10:30 – 11:00: PRACTICE 2

12:00 – 12:06: QUALIFYING GROUP 1
12:10 – 12:16: QUALIFYING GROUP 2
12:20 – 12:26: QUALIFYING GROUP 3
12:30 – 12:36: QUALIFYING GROUP 4
12:45 – 13:00: SUPER POLE

13:45 – 14:00: eRaceGaming Zone / Allianz eVillage

14:00 – 14:30: Autograph sessionGaming Zone / Allianz eVillage

15:00 – 15:10: Driver parade

16:00: Paris ePRIX (51 laps)

17:05: Podium ceremonyPodium

Championship standings

Drivers’ Championship Teams’ Championship
Driver Points Team Points
1 Sebastien Buemi 104 Renault e.dams 152
2 Lucas di Grassi 89 ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 115
3 Nicolas Prost 48 Mahindra Racing 60
4 Jean-Eric Vergne 40 Techeetah 45
5 Sam Bird 34 DS Virgin Racing 44
6 Nick Heidfeld 32 NEXTEV NIO 42
7 Felix Rosenqvist 28 Faraday Future Dragon Racing 19
8 Nelson Piquet Jr. 27 Andretti Formula E 18
9 Daniel Abt 26 Panasonic Jaguar Racing 17
10 Oliver Turvey 15 Venturi Formula E 13

Entry List

2 DS Virgin Racing (GBR) DS Virgin DSV-02 Sam Bird (GBR)
3 NEXTEV NIO (GBR) NextEV TCR Formula 002 Nelson Piquet Jr. (BRA)
4 Venturi Formula E Team (MCO) Venturi VM200-FE-02 Stéphane Sarrazin (FRA)
5 Venturi Formula E Team (MCO) Venturi VM200-FE-02 Tom Dillmann (FRA)
6 Faraday Future Dragon Racing (USA) Penske 701-EV Mike Conway (GBR)
7 Faraday Future Dragon Racing (USA) Penske 701-EV Jérôme d’Ambrosio (BEL)
8 Renault e.dams (FRA) Renault Z.E. 16 Nicolas Prost (FRA)
9 Renault e.dams (FRA) Renault Z.E. 16 Sébastien Buemi (CHE)
11 ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (DEU) ABT Schaeffler FE02 Lucas di Grassi (BRA)
19 Mahindra Racing (IND) Mahindra M3Electro Felix Rosenqvist (SWE)
20 Panasonic Jaguar Racing (GBR) Jaguar I-Type 1 Mitch Evans (NZL)
23 Mahindra Racing (IND) Mahindra M3Electro Nick Heidfeld (DEU)
25 TECHEETAH (CHN) Renault Z.E. 16 Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA)
27 Andretti Formula E (USA) Andretti ATEC-02 Robin Frijns (NED)
28 Andretti Formula E (USA) Andretti ATEC-02 Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT)
33 TECHEETAH (CHN) Renault Z.E. 16 Esteban Gutierrez (MEX)
37 DS Virgin Racing (GBR) DS Virgin DSV-02 José Maria Lopez (ARG)
47 Panasonic Jaguar Racing (GBR) Jaguar I-Type 1 Adam Carroll (GBR)
66 ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (DEU) ABT Schaeffler FE02 Daniel Abt (DEU)
88 NEXTEV NIO (GBR) NextEV TCR Formula 002 Oliver Turvey (GBR).