Maini to take part in mid-season testing: GP3

By | June 5, 2017

Hungaroring (Budapest), 5 June 2017:  The 2017 GP3 Series season continues tomorrow for a fourth test, to be held at the Hungaroring in Budapest, Hungary on 6-7 June. The teams and drivers will use the 2 day test to finalise preparations for the next round of the season, at the Red Bull Ring in Austria on 7-9 July.

The test follows the first round of the season in Barcelona on 12-14 May, which saw a fierce competition as the entire grid battled for an early advantage in the Drivers’ Championship. Jack Aitken took pole from ART teammate Nirei Fukuzumi and Dorian Boccolacci, but in Race 1 a mechanical gremlin for the Briton saw the Japanese take the win ahead of Leonardo Pulcini and Alessio Lorandi. Arjun Maini dominated Race 2 from the reverse pole, winning from Boccolacci and Lorandi.
Previous tests have been marred by rain, and the teams will be hoping that testing in central Europe in June will bring better weather to allow them to have a more useful test, which will once again feature access to the new for 2017 Drag Reduction System (DRS), restricted to use only within the 2 nominated DRS zones, in line with the FIA Formula 2 and Formula 1 championships. As usual all drivers will be allowed 4 sets of Pirelli’s medium compound for the test, and 3 sets of wets.
The driver line up is unchanged once again, and the sessions will start each day at 09:00 local time and run until 12:00: on Tuesday the afternoon session will run from 14:00 to 17:00, while on Wednesday this will be pushed forward an hour to 13:00 before closing at 16:00.
GP3 Series – Estoril Test Session: Drivers’ Entry List
ART Grand Prix
1. Jack Aitken
2. Nirei Fukuzumi
3. George Russell
4. Anthoine Hubert
Arden International
5. Niko Kari
6. Leonardo Pulcini
7. Steijn Schothurst
8. Kevin Joerg
9. Giuliano Alesi
10. Ryan Tveter
11. Dorian Boccolacci
14. Santino Ferrucci
15. Tatiana Calderón
16. Bruno Baptista
Jenzer Motorsport
22. Alessio Lorandi
24. Arjun Maini
Campos Racing
26. Julien Falchero
27. Raoul Hyman
28. Marcos Seibert
eom/GP3 official press release