Shahan, Manav, Ricky dominate heats: JK Tyre Rotax Karting Nationals final round

By | October 10, 2015

Bangalore, 10 October 2015: Day 1 of the final round of the 12th JK Tyre-FMSCI Rotax National Karting Championship kick started at the Meco Kartopia track in Bangalore. Competitors across three different categories- Micro Max, Junior Max and Senior Max have fought tooth and nail over the season to take home the National championship titles and some lucrative gratifications.

The day started with the practice session followed by the qualifying sessions in the Micro Max, Junior Max & Senior Max categories. Chirag Ghorpade from Bangalore representing Team BPC Racing, Mohammed Nallwalla  from Mumbai representing Team Rayo Racing & Ricky Donison from Bangalore representing Team BPC Racing lead in the qualifying round in the Micro Max, Junior Max & Senior Max categories respectively.

It was not a good qualifying round for 11-year old Shahan Ali Mohsin who is currently leading in the Micro max category. A technical infringement ruinedShahan’s chances of leading in the qualifying and he had to start at the back of the grid in Heat 1. But given his competence and his determination to win, he made his way through his other nine competitors and took the chequered flag with great élan. Shahan after winning in the Heat 1 said, “I was very focused on getting into the top five and lap by lap I moved ahead and with the speed in my control I ended up finishing first.” Shahan was followed by Chirag from Bangalore representing Team BPC Racing and Ruhaan from Bangalore representing Team BPC Racing were placed second and third respectively.

Heat 2 also saw Shahan dominating and taking away the pole position. However, Ruhaan Alva had a disappointing Heat 2 as just in the second last lap his lost the throttle and his kart stopped and he ended up losing his third place. Arjun Nair who was constantly battling with Ruhaan made his way upwards and had a third place finish.Chiragfrom Bangalore finished in the second place.

 Heat 1 witnessed some intense action from the karters in the Junior Max category. After a bumper to bumper 15 laps, Mohmmed Nallwalla from Mumbai took the lead and crossed the finish line first. Nirmal Umashankar from Chennai closed in on second and Akash Gowda from Bangalore was placed third. Heat 2 of the Junior max was well fought. Mohammad Nallwala led comfortably from start to finish. The actual fight was behind him between Manav Sharma & Akash Gowda for the second and third place and there were many moments of overtaking in the 15 laps race. However in the 11thlap, Mohmmed faced technical issues and did not qualify, this gave Manav a chance to race ahead and he managed to cross the finish line first. Akash was placed second and Nirmal occupied the third position.

Bangalore boy Ricky Donison from the Senior Max category who is leading the championship points table had a fruitful day 1 as he showcased some excellent karting skills yet again and finished first. He was followed by Ameya Bafna who clocked the second best time and Krishnaraj D Mahadik from Kolhapur finished third.

Ricky Donison put in his best efforts and his action packed performance placed him first. Nayan Chatterjee crossed the cheuqered flag second and Vishnu Prasad managed third place.

It is going to be a big day tomorrow for these young karters as all their hard work and perseverance of the last five months will finally pay off and India will get its 2015 National Karting Champions. The pre-finals and the final races will be held tomorrow at the Kartopia track followed by the prize distribution ceremony.


Provisional results: Micro max – Heat 1 (10 laps):  1. Shahan Ali Mohsin 10 min, 03.693 secs; 2. Chirag Ghorpade 10:05.298; 3. Ruhaan Alva – 10:05.308. Heat 2: 1. Shahan Ali Mohsin 9:59.642; 2. Chirag Ghorpade 10:00.961; 3. Arjun S Nair – 10:06.017

Junior Max – Heat 1 (15 laps): 1. Mohmmed Nallwalla 13:37.075; 2.Nirmal Umashankar 13:44.602; 3.Akash Gowda 13:45.466; Heat 2: 1. Manav Sharma 13:43.195; 2. Akash Gowda 13:44.613; 3.Nirmal Umashankar 13:44.679.

Senior Max – Heat 1 (15 laps): 1. Ricky Donison 13:57.964; 2. Ameya Bafna 13:59.709; 3.Krishnaraj D Mahadik 14:03.516. Heat 2: 1. Ricky Donison 13:41.380; 2. Nayan Chatterjee 13:44.424; 3.Vishnu Prasad 13:46.961.

Action in the JK Tyre karting nationals final round in Bangalore on Saturday.  A JK Tyre image

Action in the JK Tyre karting nationals final round in Bangalore on Saturday. A JK Tyre image