Chidananda Murthy-BS Sujith Kumar looking for fifth consecutive victory

By | November 8, 2014

Bhubaneswar, November 8: The sixth round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship, the Spirit of Kalinga III, is all set to start here on November 9, Team Tata Motors is all geared up and hopes to continue its winning form.

The highlight of the championship so far has been the dominating show by Team Tata Motors entrants. The lead entry from Team Tata Motors is driver Chidananda Murthy and co-driver BS Sujith Kumar from Bangalore. The duo is taking part in the Pro Stock category and has won four rallies in a row. The wins came in Jaipur, Bangalore, Coimbatore and Goa and the duo is leading the Championship points table with 106 points.

Murthy and Sujith Kumar have been the Pro Stock National champions in 2012 and 2013 and they hope to make it a hat-trick by winning in 2014.

“Winning four rounds of the INTSDRC on the trot is a great thing for us and we hope to make it five in a row here. This will help us get closer to the 2014 title,” said Chidananda Murthy.

Sujith Kumar added: “The break after the fifth round of the INTSDRC has refreshed us. We look forward to the event this weekend and a win is just what we are looking at in order to bag the National title for the third consecutive time.”

Another Team Tata Motors entry of Saurav Chatterjee and Ashoke Kumar Basu is second in the Pro Stock championship.

In the Pro Expert category, Team Tata Motors is fielding three teams. Here too, as in the Pro Stock category, the Team Tata Motors pair of SK Ajgar Ali and MK Mohammad Musthafa is leading the championship with 96 points. Needless to say, Ali and Musthafa are looking to win.

The other two entries from the Indian automobile giant are Ganesh Moorthy-T Nagarajan and M Chandrashekar-Srikanth Gowda and they too hope to do a good job in the Spirit of Kalinga III.

The ceremonial flag-off was held on Saturday evening from the Kalinga Stadium. Thirty cars and 10 motorbikes have entered the event which will be mostly on tarmac.


Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar gunning for hattrick of titles. A Tata Motors image

Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar gunning for hattrick of titles. A Tata Motors image