Chidu-Sujith back to winning ways: TSD Nationals Jaypore round

By | June 29, 2014
Chidu and Sujith after winning the Jeypore TSD Nationals leg on Sunday. A Tata Motors photo

Chidu and Sujith after winning the Jeypore TSD Nationals leg on Sunday. A Tata Motors photo

Jaypore, June 29, 2014: After narrowly missing out on a win in the Rally of Chikmagalur, the first round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship, Team Tata Motors Chidananda Murthy and navigator BS Sujith Kumar, both from Bangalore, stormed to a win in the Pro Stock category in the provisional results released for the Rally of Jaypore here on Sunday.

Another Team Tata Motors team comprising of Chandrashekar M and Srikanth Gowda finished third in the Pro Expert category. The Team Tata Motors ladies’ team of Vaneeta Kang and Poonam Das finished third in the Pro Stock Ladies class.

The rally route was one of the toughest as compared to others rounds in the INTSDRC and it required a lot of navigational skills and driving expertise. It needed man and machine to work in perfect synchrony to ensure the win here. Moreover, the heat did not make things any better for the competitors.

“It was a lot of hard work as the rally was challenging. But, in the end we won and that is what matters at the end of the day,” said Chidananda Murthy.

Sujith Kumar added: “It was a challenge for the navigator as well. It is good to win and we are happy about it. We would like to continue the winning form in the next round.”

The third round will be held in Bangalore on August 16-17.

Results (provisional): 

Pro Stock: 1. Chidananda Murthy-BS Sujith Kumar (Team Tata Motors, 00:46 seconds); 2. Saurav Chatterjee-Ashoke Kumar Basu (01:37); 3. Ravindra Kumar BV-Kumar M (03:22).

Pro Expert: 1. KP Karthik Maruthi-S Sankar Anand (00:14 seconds); 2. Satish Gopalkrishnan-Savera D’Souza (00:15); 3. ChandrashSujith-Chidananda, Car no 1 (1)ekar M-Srikanth Gowda (Team Tata Motors, 00:22)

Pro Stock Ladies: 1. Cheshta Sood-Deepali Gupta (10:25 min); 2. Minaxi Purohit-Nupur Jangu (35:02); 3. Vaneeta Kang-Poonam Das (Team Tata Motors, 1:05.03 hours).