CMs presence peps up JK Tyre Hornbill motor rally 2014 in Nagaland

By | December 5, 2014
  • Sethi, Arora top among professionals
  • Rupero and Lhoungu bag honours

Kohima, 5 Dec 2014: Delhi-based Gagan Sethi and navigator Dhiraj Arora emerged champions among the professionals while local challengers Vizosielie Rupero and Zakiezotuo Lhoungu topped in the amateur category in the JK Tyre Hornbill Motor Rally which concluded at the Heritage Village, Kisama, near here on Friday.

The 43 competitors tackled a challenging terrain that was a mix of dirt and broken tarmac that put to test not just the driving skills but also navigation with Time Controls placed strategically that often caught the unwary participant off-guard.

“It was a good result for us and the route was quite easy for us, after having won the Raid de Himalaya earlier this year in our category,” said Sethi who returned a penalty time of four minutes.

Finishing second in the professionals category were Tali Akang and Moulinath Ghosh (00:06:11) while Biju Awomi and Mrinla Kalita (00:06:38) completed the podium.

However, it was the amateurs who performed better as Rupero and Lhoungu incurred a penalty time of two minutes and five seconds as against four minutes that Sethi and Arora were docked.

Vime Solo and Khrielezo Keretsu came in second with a penalty time of three minutes, 18 seconds as they finished ahead of Khosazo Sazo and Vekhozo Medeo who were docked 03:49secs.

Chief Minister of Nagaland Mr TR Zeliang gave away the prizes at the Heritage Village, Kisama, in front of a packed gathering.

JK Tyre have been involved with the World famous annual Hornbill Festival by way of supporting the Hornbill Rally in an effort to provide experience and exposure to local talent who get an opportunity to compete with some of the top Rally crews of the country.

The ever-growing number of entries stands testimony tHorn Bill rally NE 6Dec2014o JK Tyre’s unstinted efforts to promote motorsport in the North-Eastern region of the country.

The results: Professionals: Gagan Sethi / Dhiraj Arora 1 (00:04.00mins penalty); Tali Akang / Moulinath Ghosh (00:06:11); Biju Awomi / Mrinla Kalita (00:06:38).

Amateurs: Vizosielie Rupero / Zakiezotuo Lhoungu 1 (00:02:05); Vime Solo / Khrielezo Keretsu 2 (00:03:18); Khosazo Sazo / Vekhozo Medeo 3 (00:03:49).

eom/JK Tyre press release