Exciting win for Jr Schumy; Mawson extends lead

By | January 28, 2017

Greater Noida, 28 Jan 2017: Mick Schumacher won the opening race of Round 3 in the MRF Challenge 2016 at the Buddh International Circuit here on Saturday. Junior Schumacher beat Felipe Drugovich to second place while Harrison Newey came third.

In Race 2, table leader Joey Mawson extended his lead with a convincing win in an action-packed race. Estonian driver Ralf Aron finished in 2nd ahead of Schumacher, who fought back from 8th on the grid.

The opening race of the MRF 1600 championship saw pole sitter Ananth Shanmugam win ahead of Anindith Reddy and Nayan Chaterjee, an MRF press release said.

Schumacher took his maiden pole in the championship after an intense battle with Newey. The 30-minute qualifying session saw Schumacher and Newey trade fastest laps before Schumacher did a 1:50.749 to seal the top spot, making it the fastest lap ever done by the F2000 at the BIC.

Starting on pole, the German driver got the perfect getaway to lead into the first corner, with front-row starter Harrison Newey losing out to Felipe Drugovich going into Turn 1. Drugovich started to apply pressure on Schumacher but could never get close enough to attempt a pass. Behind him, Newey and Mawson was all over the rear of Drugovich but could not find a way past. Schumacher managed to control the pace at the front to take his third win of the season. Drugovich finished ahead of Newey and Mawson. Rinus van Kalmthout equalled his best result of the season finishing fifth, ahead of Kimi Schramm and Aron.

In Race 2, Yoshiaki Katayama started on reverse grid pole position alongside Schramm. While all drivers had a clean start there was action at the third corner with Pavan Ravishankar colliding with Drugovich and bringing out the safety car in the process. When racing resumed, Mawson pounced on Schramm at the end of the long straight and took the lead. Schramm then lost a position to Aron and two laps later Schumacher and Newey also got by. Mawson pulled away at the front and comfortably took his second win of the season with Aron and Schumacher completing the podium. Newey finished in 4th with Schramm and Van Kalmthout rounding off the top 6.

Mick Schumacher said: “I am very happy with the win. I had a reasonable start and then it was important to control the pace. The circuit is very technical and very enjoyable to race on. I hope to continue this form for the rest of the weekend.”

In the opening race of the MRF 1600 championship, pole sitter Shanmugam had a dreadful start and dropped back to 3rd place with Reddy storming into the lead. Shanmugam first got past Nayan Chaterjee and then overtook Reddy was unchallenged then on to cross the finish line for a great win on debut. Reddy settled for 2nd place with Chaterjee taking third also on debut.

Provisional Results: MRF Challenge 2016, Round 3, Race 1: 1. Mick Schumacher (22:33.728); 2. Felipe Drugovich (22: 35.421); 3. Harrison Newey (22: 36.193); 4. Joey Mawson (22: 37.754).

Race 2: 1. Joey Mawson (24: 27.191); 2. Ralf Aron (24:35.276); 3. Mick Schumacher (24: 38.651);

MRF 1600, Round 1, Race 1: 1. Ananth Shanmugam (16:56.919); 2. Anindith Reddy (17: 02.527); 3. Arya Singh (17:03.922).





L to R Drugovich, Schumacher, Newey, Arun Mammen, MD, MRF Tyres. Image courtesy MRF