FIA MRF Challenge Round 2 heads to Dubai

By | December 5, 2017

Dubai, 5 Dec 2017: The sixth edition of the MRF Challenge 2017 will head to Dubai for Round 2 of the MRF Challenge 2017. The FIA sanctioned MRF Challenge 2017 championship is the leading winter series for young motorsport drivers from across the globe and will return to the Dubai Autodrome for the third time. Round 2 will feature 4 action packed races around the twisty and demanding circuit.

Arun Mammen, Managing Director, MRF Tyres, commented, “It gives us immense pleasure to return to Dubai with the MRF Challenge. We have some of the best young drivers from across the world who are keen to drive at this exciting circuit. We have had three different winners from the first 4 races so the championship is definitely shaping up well. The Dubai Autodrome is challenging so it is a circuit where all our drivers look forward to racing at.”

Brazilian driver Felipe Drugovich currently leads the Championship on 80 points after two race wins and a second place in Bahrain. The battle behind is close with three drivers split by 4 points. GP3 driver Julien Falchero had one win and two podiums and is in second place in the championship on 65 points. Indonesian driver Presley Martono is in third place with 63 points ahead title contender Rinus van Kalmthout, who is on 61 points. Van Kalmthout was quickest in qualifying and race until he was forced to retire with a technical problem.

The Dubai Autodrome circuit is 5.39km long and one of the most challenging circuits in the region. It has a good combination of high-speed straights and technical corners. This creates a bigger headache for the engineers who have to find the right set up to favour both these areas. The venue is part of the Union Properties Motorcity development in the greater Dubailand area.

The Indian based series, which features Formula 3 style cars, is developed and promoted by tyre giant MRF Tyres. It continues to be the only Indian based series racing not only internationally, but also at F1 venues. Both Bahrain and Abu Dhabi are on the Formula One calendar with the latter playing host to the F1 finale in in November.

Please find below details for the MRF Challenge races:

Thursday, December 7

10:35 – 11:05: MRF Challenge Practice Session 1

15:00 – 15:30: MRF Challenge Practice Session 2

Friday, December 8

09:50 – 10:20: MRF Challenge Qualifying

13:20 – 13:50: MRF Challenge Race 1

16:25 – 16:55: MRF Challenge Race 2

Saturday, December 9

09:30 – 10:00: MRF Challenge Race 3

12:30 – 13:00: MRF Challenge Race 4

Driver Line-up

  1. Nazim Azman (Malaysia)
  2. Harri Jones (Australia)
  3. Richard Wagner (Germany)
  4. Robert Megennis (USA)
  5. Henning Enqvist (Sweden)
  6. Julien Falchero (France)
  7. Daniel Nielsen Frost (Singapore)
  8. Rinus Van Kalmthout (Netherlands)
  9. Perdana Putra Minang (Indonesia)
  10. Kurt Hill (Australia)
  11. Dylan Young (Australia)
  12. Pavan Ravishankar (Singapore)
  13. Alex Karkosik (Poland)
  14. MichelangeloAmendola (Belgium)
  15. Felipe Drugovich (Brazil)
  16. PresleyMartono (Indonesia)
  17. Louis Gachot (France)
  18. Manuel Maldonado (Venezuela)

MRF Challenge 2017 Calendar:

Round 1: Nov16-18, 2017, Bahrain, BIC (WEC Support Race)

Round 2: December 7-9, 2017, Dubai, Dubai Autodrome

Round 3: December 13-15, 2017, Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi

Round 4: February 2-4, 2018, Chennai, Madras Motor Race Track

eom/MRF press release