Karter Akshay passes away in a road accident; Aaroh excels in Pro-Sr class: Pune IndiKarting

By | December 27, 2017

Pune: Overwhelming response saw 119 karters take part in India’s last karting race of the season, the IndiKarting Go-Kart Race as participants from across all categories revved up their engines and showcased their talent here on Tuesday.

The successful event was, however, marred by some sad news, later that night put the entire racing community into grief. A pal of gloom engulfed as news came in that Akshay Patil passed away in a road accident. Akshay finished runner-up in the Pro-Senior Category

The Pro-Junior and Senior classes saw some refreshing new faces. Reigning National Champion Aaroh Ravindra, had technical issues and qualified well down the order in 8th. Akshay Patil from Pune drove a brilliant Race 1 to climb from fifth to win the race while Jonathan Kuriakose and Aaroh Ravindra came second and third respectively. Race 2 was the reverse grid, where Aaroh showed his class starting from seventh, steadily climbed up the order in the 16 laps to win the race ahead of Rahul Deshpande and Monish Jain.

Eventually, it was Aaroh who received the overall winner’s trophy, with Akshay Patil and Rahul Deshpande runner-up & third respectively, in the Pro Senior. Jonathan Kuriakose won the Pro Junior followed by Neil Gandhi from Mumbai.

The Pro-Cadet witnessed intense competition and very exciting racing across all three races. So close were the overall results that the three racers were tied on points at the top. Pune’s Sai Shiva Sankaran with a victory in the last race was first, ahead of Pune’s Ranvir Singh, who also won a race. Mumbai’s Hoshmand Elavia came in third.

The Senior Amateur category meant for racers without prior success was as usual hotly contested. Sarvesh Bode from Pune, Mumbai’s Sujosh Sen, and Mohd. Raza Sheikh from Pune sealed the podium.

The Senior Open witnessed the highest number of entries with 21 participants. Karthik Muthuswamy from Bangalore won a really close race ahead of the Bhui brothers from Mumbai – Aman, and Suraj.

Aman Singh Bhui (Chandrabhan Sharma College) won the Inter-College category ahead of Akshay More (Bandodkar College) and Asad Kadegaongar (Coplen University, Singapore). Pratham Chaoudhary (Fountain Gate) won the Inter School category ahead of Rohaan Aggarwal (Cathedral and John Connon, Mumbai). Kshitij Mahajani (Bishops) was third.

Suraj Bhui of Amrit Elastomers won the Corporate Category ahead of Jatin Vora of Jet Airways and Arish Daver from Indigo Airlines. Mayank Kundu won the Senior Plus category ahead of Mohd. Raza Shaikh and Kejas Shah. Mithlesh Jain won the Women’s Category ahead of Aishwarya Dhumal and Naomi Aggarwal. The Master Category saw a close fight too with Arish Daver emerging winner ahead of Clive Joshua and Kejas Shah.

The entire racing fraternity was shocked with grief, when early next morning news came in, of the tragic passing away of Akshay Patil in a road accident. Akshay finished runner-up

IndiKarting races at Pune attracted 119 entries. A photo by Rayo Racing

in the Pro Senior Category and was a much loved and popular racer who will always be fondly remembered by the racing fraternity.

eom/Rayo Racing Release