Ladies to race for National title for first time: NRC

By | June 8, 2017

Honda ladies race file photo by Anand Philar

Coimbatore, 8 June 2017: In an innovative and landmark move, the Madras Motor Sports Club has unveiled a full-fledged National Championship for ladies under the aegis of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs in India (FMSCI) and it is incorporated into the 2017 MRF MMSC Fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship, the Rolon round of which will be held at the Kari Motor Speedway here this weekend.

It is for the first time in India that women are contesting for the National title over five rounds and the entries have been very encouraging. So also is the case with other National championship categories – the Super Sport Indian 300-400cc and 165cc, the Pro-Stock 165cc and Stock 165cc (Novice).

However, Suzuki has opted out and will not be holding its one-make championship along with the National races. This year the Suzuki Gixxer Cup will be organised along with the JK Tyre championships, according to sources.

Thus, the two-day extravaganza that follows Friday’s practice and qualifying sessions, will witness a full card of 19 races with over 200 riders vying for honours.

Race Director and Chairman of organizing committee Manoj Dalal said: “In keeping with MMSC’s constant endeavour to promote motorsport at all levels, we decided to introduce a National championship exclusively for women. We are happy that so far, 15 entries have been received.

“Given the fact that increasing number of women are taking to various forms of motorsport, we do hope that our move will further their cause.”

Along with the National Championship, India’s top two-wheeler manufacturers TVS and Honda will run their separate One-Make series in two categories – Open and Novice – besides a support race apiece for ladies.

As in the past, the Super Sport Indian 165cc (Open) will headline the championship as the category has attracted country’s top riders astride their modified bikes with the likes of last year’s champion Jagan Kumar along with his TVS team-mates KY Ahmed and Harry Sylvester, in the fray, besides Shankar Sarath Kumar of Honda Ten10.

Similarly, the TVS and Honda One-Make championships have witnessed ever-growing number of entries, some of whom include riders with international exposure like Rajiv Sethu, Vishwadev Muraleedharan, Hari Krishnan Rajagopal and Mathana Kumar.

About Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC):

The Madras Motor Sports Club has been the pioneer in developing and promoting motorsport in India since 1953, and we look to further improve in the years to come. It is the club’s endeavor to provide more opportunities for competitors and to this end, it has chalked out a progressive program for 2016. From the days of Sholavaram , MMSC built its own racetrack which was inaugurated in 1979 and secured its FIA Grade-2 international certification in 2015, making it the only club which owns such a facility. The club has organised the Porsche Super Cup, Formula Campos, Formula Asia, Asian touring car championships, Formula 3, Tata Prima Truck racing championship, the Asian 2-wheeler racing championships besides a host of other motorsport events over the years. The club also has active participation for its events from vehicle manufacturers who also use the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) extensively for testing their products.

eom/AP Media Comm press release