Rohith Mahalikudi wins REDBULL Desert Wings mini-Daker race, off to Peru for World Finals

By | December 2, 2017

Bengaluru, 2 Dec 2017: Rohith Mahalikudi  of MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology came out with flying colours setting the fastest time of 7.518 secs on a specially-created track  and won the remote controlled, ‘mini Dakar’ race beating seven other finalists in the inaugural edition of Red Bull Desert Wings University Challenge, a thrilling competition for student motorsport enthusiasts at the Narsee Monjee college in Mumbai on Nov. 30.

Taking place for the first time ever in India, Red Bull Desert Wings University Challenge had five qualifiers in Patiala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bangalore and Mumbai. Winners from each qualifier competed in the finals at Narsee Monjee College, Mumbai on 30th November 2017. The winner Rohit Mahalikudi has earned an all-expenses paid trip to Peru to compete in the World Finals at the University of Le Havre on 16th January 2018. The national winner will also get the opportunity to witness the toughest rally raid the Dakar Rally in Lima, Peru. Any university student above 18 years of age and holding a valid passport is eligible to participate.

After winning the Red Bull Desert Wings Rohit said, “I never expected such a big opportunity to come my way. Two days ago I did not imagine I’d be taking part in such an event. Red Bull changed all of that, they came to my college and I took part. I’m very surprised and pleasantly shocked that I’m going to Peru, I’m sure it’s going to be an amazing experience.”


Date: 12th November 2017

Venue: Thapar University, COS Complex, Patiala

Winner: Sarthak Gupta – Goswami Ganesh Dutta Sanatan Dharma College popularly known as S.D. College, Chandigarh – 14.3 seconds

Number of Participants: 81 took part (147 registrations).

Date: 18th November 2017

Venue: Birla Institute of Technology & Science, basketball court, Pilani, Hyderabad

Winner – Ashutosh Andhari – BITS Pilani – 16.183 seconds

Number of Participants: 84 took part (148 registrations)

Date: 24th November 2017

Venue: Amity University, Atrium Area, Kolkata

Male winner: Piyush Jindal – Amity University, Kolkata – 10.506 seconds

Woman winner (wildcard entry): Vidhi Singrodia – Amity University – 14.083 seconds

Number of participants: 84 took part (106 registrations)

Date: 28th November 2017

Venue: Ramaiah Institute of Technology, MSR Nagar, New BEL Road, Bangalore

Winner: Rohith  Mahalikudi – M.S. Ramaiah Institute of Technology – 10.076secs

Number of Participants: 64

Date: 30th November 2017

Venue: Narsee Monjee College, Vile Parle, Mumbai

Wild Card entry winner – Desert Wings challenge conducted at IGX is – Manan Nagda

Winner: Ayush Gurnani – Narsee Monjee College, Vile Parle- 10.042 secs

Number of participants: 84

National Finals

Date: 30th November 2017

Venue: Narsee Monjee College, Vile Parle, Mumbai

Winner: Rohith Mahalikudi – M.S. Ramaiah Institute Of Technology – 7.518 secs

eom/David Bodapati/inputs from release

Rohith Mahalikudi poses after winning the Red Bull Desert Wings University Challenge 2017 National Finals in Mumbai on 30 Nov 2017. Image by Red Bull Content Pool.