Ruhaan Alva, Yash Aradhya, Aaroh Ravindra for World Rotax Grand Finale in Portugal

By | October 15, 2017

Bangalore, 15 Oct 2017: Ruhaan Alva (Micro Max), Yash Aradhya (Junior Max) and Aaroh Ravindra (Senior Max) will represent India in the World Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals at Portugal from November 4-11 according to sources. Portimao in Algarve will be the venue for the 16th edition where 288 of the best kart drivers in the world will compete in four categories supported by independent chassis partners.

Meanwhile, in the Nationals, Arjun Rajiv of Birel Art India won the Micro Max Championship while Yash Aradhya (MSport) and Aaroh Ravindra of Rayo Racing won the Junior Max and Senior Max Championships respectively. Team Rayo Racing won the team championship while Nirmal Umashankar became the best driver of the year.

Ruhaan Alva, won the final race of the fifth and final round in the Micro Max class at the Meco Kartopia in the Rotax Max Karting National Championship organised by Meco Motorsports under the aegis of Federation of Motor Sports Clubs in India (fmsci) here on Sunday.

However, the 11-year old Bengaluru boy, who recently won the second runners-up place in the Italian EasyKart 60cc championship, was given a third place after the stewards’ ruling following a protest. That did not, however, deny him a second place in the Micro Max championship.

Aaroh Ravindra, Senior Max National Champion. Photos by Srinivasa Krishnan

Ruhaan reacts at the Meco Kartopia on Sunday after hearing the news of World finals. Photo by Srinivasa Krishnan, commissioned for INDIAinF1.

Ruhaan’s teammate Arjun Rajiv could only finish sixth and fifth in the two races this week-end but that was enough for him to garner a total tally of 416 points, eight more than Ruhaan, to win the Championship crown. Rishon MR, also of Birel Art India, came third for a clean sweep by the Birel team. Both Ruhaan and Rishon had 408 points.

In the Senior Max championship, it was Aaroh Ravindra of Rayo Racing who won the National title with 436 points after he finished second in both the races in the last round here. Nirmal Umashankar of MSport was second with a tally of 403 points while Aanjan Patodia, also of Rayo Racing, got the second runners-up with 388 points.

It was Yash Aradhya of MSport who won the National Championship in the Junior Max category with 432 points edging out Chirag Ghorpade, who won both the pre-finals andn finals this week-end but fell short by six points in his last-round dash with only 423 points. Yash came third in the pre-final and second in the last race of the season. Shahan Ali Mohsin MSport came third with 405 points with a second and third place this week-end.

Championship winners:

Micro Max

  1. Arjun Rajiv – 416 – Birel Art India
  2. Ruhaan Alva – 408 – Birel Art India
  3. Rishon M R – 408 – Birel Art India

 Winning Team Champion  – Peregrine Racing

Junior Max

  1. Yash Aradya – 432 – MSPORT
  2. Chirag Ghorpade – 423 – BPC Racing
  3. Shahan Ali Mohsin – 405 – MSPORT

 Winning Team Champion  – MSPORT

Senior Max

  1. Aaroh Ravindra – 436 – Rayo Racing
  2. Nirmal Umashankar – 403 – MSPORT
  3. Aanjan Patodia – 388 – Rayo Racing

Winning Team Champion – Rayo Racing

Maximum Number of Pole Position – Ruhaan Alva

Maximum Number of Wins – Aaroh Ravinda

Best New Corner – Rishon M R

Best Driver of the Year – Nirmal Uma Shankar

Akbar Ebrahim Most Improved Karter of the Year – Rohaan Madhesh

eom/with inputs from official results

edited at 11.15 am on 16 Oct 2017 correcting names following an official revisions